Marriage licenses and Civil Union Licenses are done in the Fairplay office by Appointment Only, Monday through Thursday between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm. The completed application along with copies of your photo ID’s need to be emailed to Jeanie at email@example.com prior to scheduling an appointment. Failure to complete the entire application will delay scheduling. Once the information is received we will contact you to schedule the appointment and collect payment of $31.25 for the license fee and certified copy. If you have any further questions regarding a marriage license, please call 719-836-4333.
Obtaining a License
In accordance with the marriage license requirements, a license to marry in Colorado may be obtained during normal office hours. The license is valid upon receipt, and must be used within 35 days in the State of Colorado. The fee is $30 and only cash is accepted. Licenses can be obtained at the Fairplay office only. Licenses are not issued after 4:30 pm.
A couple already married who wish to renew their marriage vows or those who have had a common law marriage may obtain a license by stating that they are married to each other.
The person solemnizing the marriage shall complete the marriage certificate form and forward to the County Clerk and Recorders office within 60 days after solemnizing. Any person who fails to forward the marriage certificate shall be required to pay a $20 late fee and an additional $5 late fee may be assessed for each additional day up to a maximum of $50.